the lure and the trap

Recently reading about an extra added layer of something practiced by some but not by others. Some people are interested, but I find I am somewhat needing to be persuaded.  My question is always:  really, why make things more complex than they need to be?

Isn’t there an elegance in simplicity?

Certainly there is an allure to the baroque, to the idea of adding more and more curliques and doodads to everything. And yes, it can be fun. But to my mind there is always, or should always be, an essential core to something, and to maintain and respect that burning heart at the center is absolutely important. One of the dangers of complexity is that one can cover the essence with so much detail that the essence quietly slips away, simply because it does not wish to be contained, or caged, under so much effluvia.

Detail may be necessary to delineate, or to accentuate essential qualities. But there is a difference between detail and excess. Excess covers up, detail illuminates, but there are some things that shine so on their own that it may be best to get out of the way and let them be what they are.

How many names can there be for the Nameless? And when do those names hide, rather than reveal?

In playing the electric guitar, the signal path between the guitar and the amplifier is important. The more you put in between the guitar and the amplifier (effects, let’s say), the more the essential sound is obscured.  Eventually, if you keep adding effects and using a longer and longer cord, the signal is lost or obscured.

If “as above, so below” is true then perhaps something even as mundane as the signal from a guitar to an amplifier can be reflective of a spiritual principle.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “the lure and the trap

  1. Jenya

    DAWG! I am with you. I always want to know: how does this serve the essential mission? My mission is to live according to my own Divine Will. If I put a bunch of stuff that doesn’t spark me, or that I can’t understand or connect to, into my practice, how does that serve my mission?
    I think that there are some practices that we are not meant to understand at first, that we are given by our teachers to stimulate us to new levels of understanding. I love that moment of “oh! change is occurring! that’s what this is for!” But the practice should be designed with that in mind, not simply the passing on of what one was taught in perhaps an entirely different context.
    In other words: practice should be purposeful, even if the purpose is solely to have some laughs or immerse oneself in beauty (which definitely fits my mission).
    And even as I write this, all the exceptions to the rule come into my mind, which really only proves the point, to me anyway: We are each here to fulfill our own Divine Will and each of those Wills is different. Perhaps it is your Task and your Will to design and preserve Baroque Lore?
    😀 I love this Trad 😀

    • Me? preserve baroque lore? oooooh noooo… that job, I do not want. I spend a lot of time trimming it off!

      Sometimes I think people who collect baroque lore are like hoarders who can’t throw anything away.

Leave a Reply

