Thoughts on Liber Resh

One of the things about doing Liber Resh (http://www.sacred-texts.com/oto/lib200.htm) every day is that it brings me into an awareness and alignment with the sun and the times of day. That sounds like nothing. “Of course I know what time of day it is,” I would have told you.

But the actual truth is that I didn’t, or so I am learning. I missed doing the ritual at straight up 12:00 noon, and so I did it at 2:00 today. I was worried about that being too close to the afternoon, but at 2:00 PM the sun here is only a little bit off dead center in the sky, and it’s hot – definitely Ahathoor in her triumphing, regardless of whether it’s 12:00 noon or not.

Afterward I was thinking that I had not actually noted the position of the sun in the sky at that time before, which is an astonishing thing to admit, having spent 51 years on this here planet, but true.

Sunset here, especially at this time of year, isn’t 5:00 or even 6:00. It’s more like 7:00 or 7:30 when the sun goes down. So Tum gets home in his joy pretty late, so to speak. Midnight is midnight wherever you are, unless you’re above the arctic circle, I suppose. And sunrise is sunrise, although I admit to having hailed Ra at 11:00 AM on the weekends when I sleep in late!

Keeping track of the sun and the times of day has also brought me into the knowledge of how I need to manage my time better. I have found myself at noon saying, “Yes, time for Resh,” and then something happens, especially at work, and I end up “coming to” at 12:30 or 12:45, or, as above, at 2:00, and wondering what exactly I did that was more important than hailing the sun. That brought me up short. How do I spend my time? Is what I am doing at that time part of my Will, or someone else’s?

Another thing that I do when doing Resh is that I imagine myself embodying the deity addressed. In the morning I try to imagine that I am Ra; how would he stand? What would he be wearing? How would it feel to be Ra? That’s a pretty interesting exercise right there. The same thing with Ahathoor, Tum, and Khephra as well. They all “feel” different, to be sure, and I’m starting to get a different feeling from “being” them for a moment. At the end of the day I try to “be” all four of them briefly and then return to myself. I am getting a lot out of this exercise on top of an exercise.

What I’m getting out of this is the idea of tuning in to the divine flow of energy throughout the universe, and how it resonates in me as well. William Blake said, “Energy is eternal delight.” That’s one of my favorite Blake quotes, but now as I practice Liber Resh I think I’m beginning to actually see and feel what that means. Another example of how everything comes together when I’m doing a daily regular practice. And so I write it down to help myself remember what it feels like, so I can keep doing it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

