I wrote your name

Drawing lines in the dirt
writing the letters of my name
your name, anybody’s name
names I made up
written in the dirt
big letters, standing back to see
fingers covered in dust and dirt
the remnants of
caesars and garbagemen
mothers and monsters
dogs and doorkeepers

forgotten or filed away
in god’s filing cabinet
oh yes he used to live here,
she used to live there,
they used to be this country
and then they were this town
and this little village
and this city even
and now all gone
dissolved into dust
and here they are the dirt

in which I write my name
and names I made up
and your name
because I love you
I love you
I wrote your name in the dirt
because I love you
I wrote your name in the dust
that was a king
I wrote your name in the dust
that was a pope
the dust that was a rich man
and a poor peasant
I wrote your name in them
I wrote your name in that
because I love you
you are more than they are
to me

and even when we join them
in the dust and dirt
blowing across the world
in the wind
or packed into mountains
or fostering roots of trees
enveloping seeds
the resting place of fields
of corn or grain
we will be or were
I wrote your name
in the dirt
and it will blow away
or be washed away
in the rain
but I did it anyway
I love you
I love you
that is why

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “I wrote your name

  1. d

    ahhhh delicious ❤

  2. Cairelle

    I read this.
    I thought of me, and I thought of Kirk.
    I thought of the early years, and the middle ones, and now.
    You know what I mean.
    I cried because of how lucky I am.
    Thank you for the reminder.

  3. So good to find you here and read your words which pry open the heart and cause song to emerge.

Leave a Reply

